Course Schedule

 

20182019 学年第1学期

 

 

 

 

 

教学环节

                    

课内学时

课外学时

1

Mon Sep 3

Lecturing

Introduction: Introduces the course and its contents; Discusses the history of OSs.

2

1

No reading

Thu Sep 6

Lecturing

Architectural Support for Operating Systems: Interrupts and Traps; I/O and device drivers; OS Protection; OS Structure; Booting.

2

1

Ch. 1 & 2

2

Mon Sep 10

Lecturing

Processes and Threads: What is a process? What is a thread? How are they created and destroyed? How are processes and threads implemented?

2

1

Ch. 3 & 4

Thu Sep 13

Lecturing

2

1

3

Mon Sep 17

Lecturing

CPU Scheduling: How does the OS decide which user processes/threads to schedule?

MiniProject Outline is HERE!

2

1

Ch. 5

Thu Sep 20

Lecturing

2

1

4

Thu Sep 27

Lecturing

Synchronization: How do threads share the same memory without stepping on each other’s toes? How do threads coordinate their execution? Locks, spinlocks, semaphores, monitors and condition variables.

Race Conditions

Semaphore

Syncproblems & monitor

2

1

Ch. 6

5

Thu Oct 4

Lecturing

2

1

6

Mon Oct 8

Lecturing

2

1

Thu Oct 11

Lecturing

2

1

7

Mon Oct 15

Lecturing

Exercise Class

2

1

 

8

Mon Oct 22

Lecturing

Deadlocks: How to prevent synchronized threads from mutually blocking each other.

2

1

Ch. 7

9

Mon Oct 29

Lecturing

2

1

10

Mon Nov 5

Lecturing

Memory Management: Memory organization. Paging. Segmentation. Page Tables. TLB Management.

Ch. 8

11

Mon Nov 12

Lecturing

2

1

12

Mon Nov 19

Lecturing

Virtual Memory

2

1

Ch. 9

13

Mon Nov 26

Lecturing

File Systems: How are filesystems implemented, what are the performance implications for various designs? Persistence, Consistency, FAT, Unix File System, Log structured filesystems.

2

1

Ch. 10 & 11
Rosenblum and Ousterhout. The Design and Implementation of a Log-Structured File System.

14

Mon Dec 3

Lecturing

2

1

15

Mon Dec 10

Lecturing

Disks and RAID: Disk Organization. Disk Interface. RAID.

2

1

Ch. 12

16

Mon Dec 17

Lecturing

Review

Excercises Answer is HERE!

2

1

 

参考书目:

Operating System Concepts (7th Edition), Silberschatz, Galvin & Gagne, Highr Education Press, Mar. 2007, ISBN: 978-7-04-020928-0

实验与上机:

Process Scheduling